Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Collection Management


Dalhousie University Libraries’ collections are developed and managed by librarians and staff at five libraries.

Many collection management tasks are the responsibility of the Resources team. Resources staff across the library system work with vendors, develop and manage budgets, order and invoice materials, and make materials available by cataloguing, physical processing, and establishing and maintaining electronic access. Existing collections are regularly analyzed and assessed to ensure they support the learning, teaching, and research needs of the University.

Dalhousie is also a member of several library organization which collaborate to share knowledge and resources and to negotiate pricing with vendors and publishers. These include Novanet, the Council of Atlantic University Libraries (CAUL), Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries (COPPUL), and the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN). Negotiating through these consortia enables the Libraries to receive better pricing and more flexible licensing terms. 

For questions regarding the Sir James Dunn Law Library
Anne.Matthewman@dal.ca

For questions regarding the Killam Memorial Library
Sarah.Stevenson@dal.ca

For questions regarding the MacRae Library
Elaine.MacInnis@dal.ca

For questions regarding the Sexton Design & Technology Library
Allison.Fulford@dal.ca

For questions regarding the W. K. Kellogg Health Sciences Library
Ann.Barrett@dal.ca

Associate University Librarian: Resources & Discovery
Allison.Fulford@dal.ca

University Librarian
Donna.Bourne-Tyson@dal.ca

Full list of subject liaision contacts

 

Resource Team Contacts

Karen Chandler, Manager, System-Wide Resources
Karen.Chandler@dal.ca

Gail Fraser, Manager, Manager, E-resources Access & Maintenance
Gail.Fraser@dal.ca

Heather MacFadyen, Collections Strategy Librarian
Heather.MacFadyen@dal.ca

Alice Stover, Manager, Acquisition and Metadata
Alice.Stover@dal.ca